June 2017 Member Spotlight: Steve Forse

In the member spotlight this month, I’m delighted to introduce you to Steve Forse, the photographer behind the fantastic bike shot which won the June “Rule of Thirds” Photo Contest!

Read on to find out how Steve got into photography, a few tips as well as a few places he’d love to photograph.

Meet Steve

Where are you from and how long have you been living in Oxford?

I’m originally from Poole, Dorset but moved to Oxfordshire with my parents in 1975. I have been living in Kidlington with my wife since the late 90’s.

What’s your story? How did you get into photography?

I’m a relative newcomer to photography. For years, I only used a camera to take a handful of very ordinary holiday snaps. Despite splashing out on a (very expensive at the time) Fugifilm FinePix digital bridge camera some time later and the addition of kids to the family, the camera didn’t often see the light of day and even when it did, it was permanently kept in fully automatic mode.

It was only after a pretty stressful time at work in early 2016 that I realised I needed to get out and do something for ‘me’. After speaking to my boss, who is a semi-pro photographer, and doing a fair bit of research on the internet, I bought my first (and current) entry level Nikon DSLR.

What is your favourite subject to photograph?

I don’t really have a favourite subject. I love sunsets/sunrises and long exposure/light trails photography, but also like landscapes, nature, scenery, architecture and street photography. I’ve also had a dabble at sports photography (well, my kids playing football anyway!)

What do you think is key to taking a good photo?

Take your time and plan your shot, be patient and be prepared to take hundreds of photos to get the one or two that you’re really pleased with and willing to share with others.

Where do you find your photography inspiration? What motivates you?

I find myself looking around all the time (even if I haven’t got the camera with me) to try and find new ideas and angles to photograph. I’m no artist but photography allows me to be creative and produce something that I, and perhaps others, can enjoy.

The Photowalk challenge in January really motivated me to do more – to be given a list of 31 themes and to post a photo each day based on the theme of the day was great fun. Once I had completed the first 5 or 6 days, I just felt I had to keep going to the end of the month!

Where in the world would you most like to photograph and why?

There are loads of great photo opportunities around the world but I think I’ve still got lots to do in the UK. The Welsh mountains, Scottish Highlands and the Lake District are all a must at some point.

I’m also really keen to do a London at night Photowalk – capture the sunset (hopefully), walk the city streets throughout the night taking in the sights and finish off with the backdrop of a sunrise to a classic London landmark. Anyone want to join me? Give me a shout and we’ll see if we can organise something!

What is your experience of Oxford Photo Walk?

Relaxed and friendly and there’s no expectation to be any sort of pro or have a wealth of knowledge. There is such a range of experience and camera equipment around that anyone can feel welcome and part of a group of people who just share a common interest.

Thank you

I’d like to thank Steve for sharing his story and a few of his favourite photographs with us. Are you as patient as Venca? How many photos of the same thing have you taken, in order to get that perfect shot? And yes, please do organise that sunset/sunrise photo trip to London! I’m sure many of us will want to join you!

Like what you see?

Then you can see more of Steve’s work on his instagram.

If you have any questions or comments for Steve, please feel free to leave a comment below, send us an email, or ask him in person at the next photo walk! 🙂

All the best,

Lorna

Leave a Comment

