May 2017 Member Spotlight: Oscar Haglund

In the member spotlight this month, I’m delighted to introduce you to Oscar Haglund, the photographer behind the amazingly detailed bug shot which won the May 2017 “Texture” Photo Contest!

While we now have a small crowd of regulars on our photo walk, I also love the fact that on every photo walk we welcome new people. And hats off to Oscar, as he stole the show this month with an amazing macro shot from his very first Oxford Photo Walk!

In this short interview, Oscar share’s how he got into photography – especially his new found love (and talent clearly!) for macro photograph – as well as a few tips.

Meet Oscar

Where are you from and how long have you been living in Oxford?

I moved to Abingdon from Stockholm, Sweden last October after my wife got a post doctorate position at Diamond Light Source south of Oxford.

What’s your story? How did you get into photography?

Surprisingly enough I don’t have a long-standing passion of photography. In fact the camera I am currently using (a6000) is one I bought my wife (then girlfriend) 3 years ago after her point and shoot broke. I promise she will have it back sooner or later…

Before then I had never had a camera, nor had I used my phone for taking many photos. The last few years I have been shooting a lot more but that was largely down to doing much more traveling and it was purely casual and never really leaving full-automatic mode.

Then for various reasons before a trip to China in March this year, I decided I wanted a sharper lens and I started digging into various photography videos on youtube. After that it did not take much for me to tumble fully down the rabbit hole.

What is your favourite subject to photograph?

I have always loved animals and nature so that naturally became my favourite subjects to photograph. I would like to be able to take good landscape photos but so far, this skill has completely eluded me.

Bugs and various types of macro photography comes easily since the subjects are everywhere and unlike larger animals they often can’t run away.

Macro photography is especially interesting because it allows you to see a world that you normally never get to see in detail that your eye can’t perceive by itself. It also doesn’t hurt that macro photography is cheap to get started with. All you really need is a reasonably sharp lens and some cheap extension tubes.

What do you think is key to taking a good photo?

I think I’m still learning too much to be able to answer that. One tip that I read and that I have taken to heart is to “take a lot of shots and throw away most of them”. Another good tip is to slow down and really think about your shot, but so far that’s not something I have been very good at. I tend to machine-gun and hope I get lucky!

Where do you find your photography inspiration? What motivates you?

Since I am still so new to the world of photography there is still so much to learn and I can easily see the progress I am making.

Where in the world would you most like to photograph and why?

Oh, that is a very difficult question. If I really could choose anywhere I would probably go with one of the moons of Saturn. But if I’m being a little more realistic then maybe the Amazon rainforest or diving some great reef.

What is your experience of Oxford Photo Walk?

This was my first walk but it was very much enjoyable. It was a nice very casual event. I definitely intend to attend more of them.

Thank you

I’d like to thank Oscar for sharing his story and a few of his favourite photographs with us. Are you also like Oscar, and just take lots of shots, hoping one will turn out alright? It’s certainly not bad advice, and sometimes it’s the only way!

Like what you see?

Then you can see more of Oscar’s work on the following platforms:

If you have any questions or comments for Oscar, please feel free to leave a comment below, send us an email, or ask him in person at the next photo walk! 🙂

All the best,

Lorna

Leave a Comment

